Les deux musées de la collection d’objets d’art „Fondation privée Empereur François-Joseph“, afférents au Klosterkeller et agréés par le Ministère fédéral de la Culture, permettent aux hôtes, grâce à leurs programmes d’évènements, de s’immerger dans l’esprit du temps glorieux et charmant de l’ère de l’Empereur François-Joseph I, le restaurant proposant pour sa part à titre de complément culinaire des évènements de cuisine de la Cour historiques issus de la diversité des différentes cuisines de la monarchie du Danube pour jusqu’à 300 personnes (sur demande possibilité d’extension à 400 personnes).
Le Musée du chapeau de l’Empereur François-Joseph a trouvé avec le Piaristenkeller, l’ancien « Stiftskeller », qui était a l’époque le lieu de rendez-vous des officiers de la caserne de cavalerie située à proximité dans le quartier de Josefstadt, son emplacement pour ainsi dire idéal et est devenu une attraction en matière de musée.
Parade chapeau et vin et galant "Cercle diplomatique"
Dans le cadre du programme exceptionnel de visites guidées dans les musées afférents au restaurant, à savoir le Musée du chapeau de l’Empereur François-Joseph et la Chambre au trésor des vins KuK., le visiteur a la possibilité – contrairement aux présentations traditionnelles des musées – d’essayer les objets précieux issus de la collection de chapeaux et de déguster des vins de la vinothèque du Trésor des vins – un régal pour l’âme et le palais !
... Anno 1729
Old view from the restaurant at the Piarist monastery to Vienna´s mountain - the "Kahlenberg and Leopoldsberg" at the back ground of the picture. This historical view shows in the front the built of most important Baroque architect "Fischer von Erlach" building of the "Paarsche riding school" in the Josefstadt. Count Joseph Ignatius pair - made this generous riding school for the "white horses from Spain" - the first Spanish Riding School - palatial expand. The world-famous Winter Riding School in the Hofburg was erected 1729-1735 - also by Fischer von Erlach - built by Emperor Charles VI.
Entirance of the restaurant - Collage from the original painting C.Schütz anno 1780
The monastery cellars and cavalry barracks in the Josephstadt district
anno 1772 until 1910
The exercise yard and stables for 2,500 horses erected in the year 1772 originally stood immediately behind the monastery. Even at that time, the Piaristenkeller is said to have been the former wine tavern of the monastery winery, when it was a popular meeting place for officers from the nearby cavalry barracks.
The Emperor Franz Josef Hat Museum has found a perfect home in the Piaristenkeller – once the monastery winery and a meeting place for officers from the nearby cavalry barracks – and has become a popular museum attraction.
... Anno 1850 until 1895
The main focus of our hat collection is on headgear from the time of Emperor Franz Joseph I. This was the heyday of millinery fashion in Vienna due to the variety of headgear worn by Viennese high society and the ornate uniforms of the imperial and royal army.
Kaiser Franz Joseph
The art collection within the museums belonging to the "Emperor Franz Joseph Private Foundation", have been evaluated by the Federal Ministry of Culture and belong to the monastery cellar. This enables guests to immerse themselves in the splendid and charming spirit of the times of Emperor Franz Joseph I with the programmes of the museums. The restaurant offers a culinary complement in the form of royal historic culinary experiences, taken from the vast variety of different cuisines of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy for groups of up to 300 (additional places for groups of up to total 400 are available on request).
A handkiss for the minister of culture Elisabeth Gehrer from the owner of the restaurant Mr. Komm.-Rat Erich Emberger.
The Emperor Franz Josef Hat Museum is an event museum at the heart of 300-year-old monastery wine cellars. Apart from the valuable collectors' items on display in the cabinets, the hat collection also features exceptional models from the "good old days” which visitors can wear during a tour of this event museum.
Besides the exhibition of particularly valuable pieces in glass display cabinets, in parallel with the conventional museum presentation of our hat collection, we also have an arrangement whereby visitors are encouraged not only to admire the exhibits, but also to experience the history and spirit of the imperial age by becoming actively involved.
This experience is made possible by allowing our guests to wear hats from the collection during a tour of our museum. Then by candlelight and adorned with headpieces from the "good old times," together our guests take part in a traditional Viennese pageant of hats in our historic wine cellars. There they are treated to a wine tasting and a presentation of traditional customs.
Guests slip into the roles of leading personalities of the Viennese society of bygone days and are animated to actively participate in traditional wine-making, wedding and other Austrian customs. They also get to know the delightful social customs dictated by the imperial and royal etiquette of the 19th-century, such as the Viennese hand kiss.
In contrast to conventional museum presentations, instead of just looking at the exhibits, during the course of these exceptional tours guests are able to try on treasures from the hat collection, such as the headgear of the elitist cavalry units of the Austro-Hungarian army, as well as fabulous ladies' hats. This entertaining experience introduces them to the nobility and etiquette, as well as the charm and flair of Viennese high society during this heyday of millinery fashion.
Evaluation of the museum by the Federal Ministry of Culture
|Wappen Kaiser Franz Joseph Hutmuseum||Wappen K.u.K. Weinschatzkammer|
|Komm.-Rat Erich Emberger, Stifter||BM f. Bildung, Wissenschaft und Kultur Elisabeth Gehrer,
Provinzial Pater Dr. Hartmann Thaler
|Abg.z.NR Dkfm. Dr. Günter Stummvoll|
On 10 October 1999, both belonging to the restaurant, you must fill the art collection "Emperor Franz Joseph Private Foundation" were - the Emperor Franz Joseph Hat Museum and the Imperial and Royal Wine Treasury of the Federal Minister for Education, Science and Culture, Mrs. Elisabeth Gehrer himself, Father Dr. Hartmann Thaler solemnly evaluated together with the Provincial of the Piarist in the presence highest-ranking representatives of the Austrian Armed Forces, as well as numerous prominent Represented from Austria politics, economy and culture and in the official directory of the Viennese museums included.
These two established museums of the art collection“Emperor Franz Joseph Private Foundation” are connected to the K.u.K. Restaurant Piaristenkeller with their representative event facilities and,with these collections and guided tours, illustrate the spirit of the time and the culture of the Danube monarchy and the former Austrian crown-lands.
The headgear of the hussars, dragooners and lancers who represented the crown estates in the Imperial and Royal Army can be rediscovered in the Imperial Hat Museum as can the great variety of hats from the upper echelons of Viennese society.
The Imperial and Royal Wine Treasure Vault contains collector's curios, such as Tokay and Madeira wines from 1795 to 1916. With this wine in mind, Komm.-Rat Erich Emberger has prepared original royal recipes out of the great variety from the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy for his guests and the wine and culinary tradition from the days of Emperor Franz Joseph is preserved in the restaurant kitchen for receptions with groups of up to 400.